Skip to main content Skip to secondary navigation
Past recipients of the Karen Bartholomew Award

Karen Bartholomew Award for Exceptional Service

Main content start

The Karen Bartholomew Award was established in 2005 to recognize significant and distinguished volunteer service to the Stanford Historical Society (SHS) over a number of years. 

The award’s first recipient and its namesake was Karen Bartholomew, class of 1971, who joined as a member of the society at its founding in 1976.  As a volunteer, Bartholomew served on the Board of Directors in 1983-87 and 2002-05, chaired the Program Committee in 1992-96, and chaired the Publications Committee in 2002-05. She served on the Governance Committee from 2002 to 2005. In addition, she was the co-editor (1984-87) and associate editor (2000-05) of Sandstone & Tile. Currently, Bartholomew serves on the Program and Publications committees. She has also been actively involved in the writing, editing, and production of many SHS publications.

Past Bartholomew award recipients


Nominations may be made by current SHS board members. A nomination should include a substantive paragraph explaining the nominee’s volunteer service and specific contributions to advancing the society’s mission. Paid SHS employees or consultants are not eligible.

Selection Process

A panel of three SHS board members, selected by the SHS president, will constitute the Nominations Committee and will review all submissions and name the recipient(s). The Nominations Committee will consider the following criteria: years of service, scope, extent of the contributions, and leadership positions held, if any.


The recipient(s) shall receive an award certificate as well as recognition at the SHS Annual Meeting and on the society website.

Image: Past Karen Bartholomew Award recipients. (From left) Margaret McKinnon, Peter Stansky, Susan Sweeney, Margaret Ann Fidler, Susan Schofield, Karen Bartholomew, and Patricia Devaney. (credit: Sunny Scott)